Book Ish: The Canon Continues

#014: “Real Power” by Janet O. Hagberg

August 25, 2020

Michelle delves into Real Power: Stages of Personal Power in Organizations by Janet O. Hagberg. She explores the power continuum, the dark side of each stage, and more.

From the back cover: "Janet O. Hagberg has written a dynamic book about power—real, personal power for forward-looking people in organizations who want to harness their own power for the common good. "I wrote this book," says Hagberg, "to transform the way we think about power and leadership. It takes people on a journey beyond achievement and success to a stance in which power comes from their inner core and they lead from their souls."

There is no doubt that the world is ready for a new model of leadership. In this third edition, Janet Hagberg addresses much that she has learned from her readers. The result is a deepening of the descriptions of each stage, a new way to think about the dark side of each stage, new stories of each stage derived from her readers, a connection to the spirituality expressed at each stage, as well a description of "The Wall" between Stages Four and Five. Throughout the book, the author adds more of her personal story to illustrate her experiences and observations of each of the stages of power."

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App